Stacks Image 79804

Founded in 1994, the Medlar Press is the UK's leading angling publisher. Our fishing books include some of the classics of angling literature as well many superb contemporary titles. Based in the beautiful countryside of Pembrokeshire, all Medlar books are designed, typeset and printed in the UK using high quality sustainable paper and inks. Whether you are looking for coarse, game, fly or sea fishing books, or books on barbel, pike, carp, trout, sea trout, grayling, mullet or salmon fishing, you are in the right place.

Stacks Image 79852

Classic Angling Books

To celebrate 25 years of publishing we updated and rebound many of our angling classics -
and most of them are now in stock. Remember - you can reserve a copy of any forthcoming
title online and we'll get back to you as soon as it's available.

Stacks Image 2369
Stacks Image 79354

Find Medlar on Facebook and Instagram


We are now in the middle of a prolonged drought after no rain for four days . . . More boats are venturing out from Fishguard Lower Town Harbour and the Yacht Club Cafe has opened for the year. On the book front it has been good to start working with artist John Richardson again after a few years (and Gareth Craddock for the first time) on their superb new book Forgotten Fen (see above), due out later this year. The manuscript for Reclaiming the Calder (also above) is now complete and the process of editing and finding images is well under way. The hand bindery is doing a slow breaststroke towards being finished and the Vandercook press is still waiting for its new topcoat of blue . . . and finally, in case you still haven't seen them, our new address and telephone contact details are on our Ordering page. Medlar email addresses remain the same as before.

Medlar authors include: Phil Arnott, John Aston, Elwyn Attwood, “BB”, Dame Juliana Berners, Chris Berry, Fred Buller, William Caine, Ken Callahan, W.H. Canaway, Patrick Chalmers, Eddie Chambers, Terence Clifford-Amos, Michael Charleston, Henry Coxon, Bob Dales, Mary Douglas, Donald Downs-Baird, Malcolm Dutchman-Smith, Jon Edy-Berry, John Essex, Mark Everard, Hugh Falkus, Bob Frandsen, Clive Gammon, Maurice Genevoix, H.A. Gilbert, John Goddard, Peter Gray, Malcolm Greenhalgh, James Leighton Hardy, John James Hardy, Jack Hargreaves, Keith Harwood, Warren Hastings, Cliff Hatton, Andrew Herd, John Waller Hills, A.E. Hobbs, Eric Hope, Timothy Hurrell, Maurice Ingham, Alfred Jardine, Peter Keen, John Knott, Christopher Knowles, A.E. Knox, Mike Ladle, John Langridge, Adrian Latimer, Terry Lawton, Donald MacIntosh, J.W. Martin, Chris McCully, Peter McParlin, Derek Mills, Paul Morgan, Chris Newton, Kevin Parr, Dexter Petley, Michael Pickford, Harry Plunket Greene, William Quarry, Charles Rangeley-Wilson, Arthur Ransome, Barrie Rickards, Steven Ricketts, David Rigden, Iain Robertson, Peter Rolfe, Beverley Ronalds, Stanley Salmons, Chris Sandford, Tim Scott Bolton, Colin See-Paynton, H.T. Sheringham, Simon Smith, David Stanley, Peter Stone, Francisco Suay, Gilbert Tew, Norman Thelwell, Dave Tipping, Bernard Venables, Francis Walbran, Richard Walker, Izaak Walton, Michelle Werrett, Peter Wheat, Ken Whelan, Tony Whieldon, Maurice Wiggin, Mike Winter, Phil Woodhall, Chris Yates.